unspooling
unspooling AFTER DARK
unspooling AFTER DARK episode 7
1
0:00
-45:46

unspooling AFTER DARK episode 7

Reading The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson, Chapter Ten
1

At long last, we’ve arrived at our tale’s stunning and inevitable conclusion!

What secret knowledge is contained in Jekyll’s final confession? What madness drove the brilliant, beneficent physician to separate his natures? How did Jekyll contend with being privy to depraved deeds as he rode the backseat of his own consciousness? And perhaps most pertinently: what went wrong for good doctor?!

Stevenson answers all these questions and more in this phenomenal final chapter!

Enjoy!


I have a bit more to say about The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (including a few reflections on a couple of film adaptations) now that we’ve finished the tale, but I’m wiped out from the reading right now so we’ll save that discussion for another time.

For now, suffice it to say that I hope you’ve enjoyed the story—it’s a classic for a reason!—as well as my reading of it. I had a lot of fun with this one and I look forward to the opportunity to continue to hone my reading skills even more in the future. It is a blast for me to spend so much time with great classics like this! It’s truly an honour and a privilege. I’m pumped to continue exploring classics of the Gothic and horror genres with you, my friends.

Needless to say, I hope you’ve been able to at least glimpse a bit of the potential of unspooling AFTER DARK with this first series of readings. I’m excited to bring you more of the same shortly. We’ll take a brief break from reading next time out but I will be announcing the subject of our next reading then, so stay tuned and be excited for that.

Okay, I think that’s all the housekeeping for now.

Thanks for listening to this first series of readings! It means the world to me that you’re here with me at the start of this crazy journey :)

Until next time,

c.d.

Discussion about this podcast

unspooling
unspooling AFTER DARK
welcome to unspooling AFTER DARK!
come 'round the campfire and experience for yourself the most chilling and terrifying tales ever put to page.
each week, yours truly, host and author c.d. mudge, reads a legendary selection from the spine-tingling annals of gothic and horror literature.
so, come grab a seat--but don't glimpse behind the night's veil... you might not like what you find there in the dark, or worse, what you find, might like YOU...